Thank you to the South Dakota public power communities and the Coalition to Preserve Consumer Choice for attending the first meeting of the “Electric Services in an Annexed Area” summer study committee. The meeting was held on July 25 in Pierre, South Dakota. The Coalition gave a presentation focusing on how an electric service territory freeze would result in higher rates, higher taxes and would interfere with the rights of private customers to annex. There was also a focus on the ability of municipal electric utilities to serve. Legislators were very interested in the fact that overall, municipals have higher reliability than the cooperatives. They requested more information regarding reliability, system assets, and system build out, to be discussed at the next committee meeting. The Coalition also pointed out that the municipal electric utilities have had the ability to grow with their city throughout their existence. There was great public power representation at this meeting, highlighting the high importance of this issue for municipal electric utilities. Public Power Strong!

Public Power Champion Nomination Form

A Public Power Champion might be a policymaker who has made a substantial contribution to the electric industry, supported a bill critical to public power, or one with a special commitment to his/her own public power utility. It might be a manager who demonstrates exceptional leadership and dedication to public power. A Public Power Champion might be a utility that has participated in good neighbor activities, hosted educational opportunities, or shown an extraordinary commitment to the local community.

A Public Power Champion might be you! To nominate your utility or an individual for their contribution to public power, submit a brief description of the achievement.

Nominate your Public Power Champion today!