Featured Lawmakers


Sen. Thune introduces Surface Transportation Board Reauthorization Act of 2015

Sen. John ThuneMissouri River Energy Services (MRES) recognizes Sen. John Thune (R-SD) for introducing the Surface Transportation Board (STB) Reauthorization Act of 2015 (S.808).

Sen. Thune, chairman of the Commerce Committee, along with Ranking Member Sen. Bill Nelson (D-FL), introduced the bipartisan bill March 19. The bill, which was unanimously approved by a voice vote without amendments, would improve how the STB works by making it a more timely, efficient, and equitable regulatory agency. It also would expand the membership of the STB to five members from its current three-person structure and provide needed improvements in federal oversight of freight railroads.

Sen. Thune has been a consistent advocate for advancing the interests of captive shippers. MRES supports these needed changes to the STB and fully supports Sen. Thune's bill.

MRES sincerely thanks Sen. Thune for his continued efforts to pass needed legislation for reauthorization of the STB and for his ongoing concern for captive shippers.



2014 Notable Lawmakers  

Sen. John Thune

Sen. Heidi Heitkamp

Minnesota State Rep. Michael Beard

Iowa State Sen. Nancy Boettger

Sen. Tim Johnson

Sen. John Thune



2013 Notable Lawmakers

Sen. John Thune

Rep. Tim Walz

Sen. John Thune

Iowa State Sens. Bolkcom and Feenstra and State Reps. Sands and Kelley

North Dakota State Sens. Klein, Murphy, and Robinson and Reps. Delzer, Monson, and Vigesaa

Sen. Amy Klobuchar

Sens. Al Franken, Tim Johnson, Amy Klobuchar


2012 Notable Lawmakers    

Sen John Thune and Rep. Collin Peterson

Senator Kent Conrad

Minnesota State Rep. Morrie Lanning

Senators Amy Klobuchar and John Hoeven

Senator Tim Johnson

Iowa State Senator Steve Kettering

Congressman Tim Walz

Senators Al Franken and Amy Klobuchar

Pierre, S.D., Mayor Laurie Gill